Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Emergency Contact
Cover of Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact
Borrow Borrow
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable...
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • "Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book." —Rainbow Rowell

    From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I've Loved Before.
    For Penny Lee, high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she'd somehow landed a boyfriend, they never managed to know much about each other. Now Penny is heading to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer. It's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind.

    Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

    When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to, you know, see each other.

About the Author-

  • Mary H.K. Choi is the New York Times bestselling author of Emergency Contact, Permanent Record, and Yolk. She is the host of, Hey, Cool Job!, a podcast about jobs and Hey, Cool Life!, a micro-pod about mental health and creativity. Her writing has been featured in The Atlantic, The New York Times,and GQ. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. Follow her on Twitter @ChoitotheWorld.

Reviews-

  • AudioFile Magazine Narrators Joy Osmanski and Jacques Roy tell this dual-viewpoint story of young adults finding their way. Leaving for college in Austin, Penny is excited to start on the path to becoming a writer. She doesn't expect to meet her roommate's hot, slightly older ex-uncle-by-marriage. A chance second meeting during an embarrassing moment in his life ends with the two exchanging phone numbers. The last thing they expect is to fall into a friendship--and possibly love--through text messaging. Osmanski and Roy provide excellent renditions of the characters' personalities. Though there are some volume variations between the narrators and some unclear character differentiation when Osmanski narrates dialogue, this audio will have the listener rooting for Penny and Sam to find their way together. A.L.S.M. � AudioFile 2018, Portland, Maine
  • School Library Journal

    October 1, 2018

    Gr 9 Up-Narrators Joy Osmanski and Jacques Roy prove to be convincing partners in propelling two awkward misfits toward each other. Osmanski's Penny Lee is slightly detached. UT-Austin might be less than 80 miles away, but 18-year-old Penny imagines she's headed for a whole new world-literally, as she wants to hone her sci-fi writing skills. Roy takes on slightly older Sam, who happens to be Penny's new roommate's 21-year-old ex-uncle-by-marriage. Versatile Roy could be 20 or 40, just as Sam's falling-apart-life might suggest multiple ages, from college drop-out ex-boyfriend of Someone Kinda Famous to filmmaker-in-the-rough who's biding his time as an overqualified barista forced to sleep where he works. Penny and Sam's chance second meeting involving a panic attack results in their fatefully designating each another as "emergency contacts." Let the texting begin. VERDICT Fans of Maurene Goo, Jenny Han, and Julie Murphy: get ready to listen in.-Terry Hong, Smithsonian BookDragon, Washington, DC

    Copyright 2018 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Simon & Schuster Audio
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact
Mary H. K. Choi
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Emergency Contact
Emergency Contact
Mary H. K. Choi
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close