Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
Girl Out of Water
Cover of Girl Out of Water
Girl Out of Water
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't...
Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

    Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

    Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

    Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

About the Author-

  • Laura Silverman is a writer and editor. She loves books, dogs, and bubble baths. She currently lives in Brooklyn, NY. You can follow her on Twitter @LJSilverman1.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    March 1, 2017
    Silverman's debut offers several takes on a good question: "Why do so many people equate growing up with leaving?" Unlike her mother, who enters and exits her life at whim, white, 17-year-old Anise has lived--and surfed--in Santa Cruz her whole life. Her easygoing father and a diverse group of friends provide stability--especially Eric, her white best friend, who's turning into something more. As the friends plan their last summer together before college, Anise's plans are shattered. Her aunt has been in a car accident, and Anise and her dad will be spending the summer in Nebraska caring for her aunt and high-spirited cousins. Anise's reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who've ever been homesick. While babysitting her cousins, she meets Lincoln, a black, smart, handsome, witty one-armed skateboarder whose personality quirks are rattled off in lists rather than revealed through interactions. As Anise trades surfing for skating, she gradually matures, feeling a responsibility to her cousins and sympathy for her aunt and father. Nomadic, nature-obsessed Lincoln, whose only flaws seem to be a messy glove compartment and an inability to sing, is an ever patient teacher, showing Anise how to adapt to new places and call them home. A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they're planted. (Romance. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    March 1, 2017

    Gr 9 Up-Anise was born and raised on the ocean in Santa Cruz, CA. A talented surfer who lives steps away from the water, she is beyond ready for the last summer with her friends before their senior year of high school. Plans quickly change when her aunt, a widow with three children, gets into a serious car accident. Anise and her father have to fly to Nebraska to take care of the house and children. This is not the perfect summer Anise imagined. As she acclimates to life away from water, Anise can't help but feel haunted by the ghost of her runaway mother as she spends time in the house where her mother was raised. As her friends' texts grow fewer and farther between, Anise meets Lincoln. He is a confident skateboarder who has only one arm, and he shows Anise that there is more to life than surf and sand. Anise starts as a seemingly shallow person; being away from her friends forces her to step outside her comfort zone and examine parts of herself and her family that she did not know existed. Though she thinks about her friends in California all the time, they are not nearly as well-developed as her cousins and companions in Nebraska. Readers will empathize with Anise as she explores this different side of her life. The book features a cast of diverse characters and a fresh take on sports (surfing and skateboarding). While the ending is a bit rushed and will leave readers searching for answers about Anise's and Lincoln's futures, this title is ultimately worthy of a spot in any teen's beach bag. VERDICT Purchase for YA and high school collections where summer romance is in demand.-Carli Sauer, Carmel Middle School, IN

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    April 15, 2017
    Grades 9-12 Anise has few needs in life. Just the surf, her board, and her tight-knit posse of friends. Then Anise's aunt is in a terrible car accident and needs them to come help care for her children in landlocked Nebraska. One place her younger cousins enjoy is the skate park, where Anise meets a handsome black skater boy, Lincoln. After Anise claims that surfing is harder that skateboarding, Lincoln challenges her to give skating a try. It's a fiasco, but Anise becomes determined to learn to skateboard, and Nebraska slowly grows on her. Debut novelist Silverman realistically captures Anise's love for her surfing life and the terrible sacrifice she makes when leaving it behind for a whole summer, and her relationships with her family are bittersweet and loving, giving her depth of character. Meanwhile, Lincoln is a charmer, and thanks for Silverman's excellent portrayal of a boy who is not defined by his disability, like Anise, readers will easily forget that he is missing an arm. Hand to fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2017, American Library Association.)

  • Kirkus Reviews "Anise's reluctance to leave, rooted in worries of forgetting home and being forgotten, will resonate with readers who've ever been homesick...A quick summer read to reassure teens who worry about college or blooming where they're planted."
  • RT Book Reviews "Silverman's debut is an entertaining and well-done coming-of-age story featuring a likable protagonist who learns that home is less about place and more about being surrounded by loved ones and friends. Silverman does a commendable job showcasing a diverse cast of characters, and the interracial romance is sweet and clean. The situations feel genuine and realistic...Those who enjoy Huntley Fitzpatrick and Jenny Han should give this one a try. There's lots to like here, and Silverman proves she is a rising author to watch out for.
    "

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Sourcebooks
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
Girl Out of Water
Girl Out of Water
Laura Silverman
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
Girl Out of Water
Girl Out of Water
Laura Silverman
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close