Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Lost Book of the White
Cover of The Lost Book of the White
The Lost Book of the White
Borrow Borrow Borrow
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu comes the second book in the Eldest Curses series and a thrilling adventure for High Warlock Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood,...
From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu comes the second book in the Eldest Curses series and a thrilling adventure for High Warlock Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood,...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu comes the second book in the Eldest Curses series and a thrilling adventure for High Warlock Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood, for whom a death-defying mission into the heart of evil is not just a job, it's also a romantic getaway. The Lost Book of the White is a Shadowhunters novel.
    Life is good for Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood. They're living together in a fabulous loft, their warlock son, Max, has started learning to walk, and the streets of New York are peaceful and quiet—as peaceful and quiet as they ever are, anyway.

    Until the night that two old acquaintances break into Magnus's apartment and steal the powerful Book of the White. Now Magnus and Alec will have to drop everything to get it back. They need to follow the thieves to Shanghai, they need to call some backup to accompany them, and they need a babysitter. Also, someone has stabbed Magnus with a strange magical weapon that is changing the very nature of his powers.

    Fortunately, their backup consists of Clary, Jace, Isabelle, and newly minted Shadowhunter Simon. In Shanghai, they learn that a much darker threat awaits them. Magnus's magic is growing unstable, and if they can't stop the demons flooding into the city, they might have to follow them all the way back to the source—to the very realm of the dead.

About the Author-

  • Cassandra Clare is the author of the #1 New York Times, USA TODAY, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Shadowhunter Chronicles. She is also the coauthor of the bestselling fantasy series Magisterium with Holly Black. The Shadowhunter Chronicles have been adapted as both a major motion picture and a television series. Her books have more than fifty million copies in print worldwide and have been translated into more than thirty-five languages. Cassandra lives in western Massachusetts with her husband and three fearsome cats. Visit her at CassandraClare.com. Learn more about the world of the Shadowhunters at Shadowhunters.com.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    August 1, 2020
    "Malec" and friends go to Shanghai in this spinoff series sequel. A peaceful night (infant son asleep, sailor pajamas on, book in lap) turns rowdy when intruders break into Magnus Bane's Brooklyn apartment. Shinyun Jung appears with Ragnor Fell, Magnus' old friend whom he thought to be dead. The two warlocks are working on a project together--something involving Sammael (the Father of Demons) and the Book of the White (which they've just stolen from baby Max's room). Before departing nearly scratch-free, Shinyun "gifts" Magnus by stabbing him with a weapon called the Svefnthorn and leaving a glowing hole in his chest. Magnus and Alec Lightwood rally the rest of the Shadowhunter crew to retrieve the book and prevent this scheme from reaching completion. But between misbehaving portals, a mysterious magical injury, and excessive demons, can they save the world again? And who will watch the baby? Though just as sexy as ever, the relationship between Alec and Magnus dips into sentimentality as they balance newfound parenthood with their thirst for adventure--and each other. Despite high stakes, heroes and villains alike adopt a witty, almost jovial disposition that makes the plot read like a romantic, but dangerous, vacation. The incorporation of Chinese Shadowhunters, gods, demons, and realms deepens the series' mythology. Multiple forbidden relationships between Shadowhunters and Downworlders symbolically echo the fight for marriage equality. Plenty of fan service within a rich setting. (Fantasy. 14-adult)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    September 4, 2020

    Gr 9 Up-Magnus and Alec return in the next installment of Clare's Shadowhunters spinoff. The unlikely couple of Magnus, a warlock of Dutch and Indonesian descent, and Alec, a white demon-hunter, have settled into a happy, comfortable life with their toddler son, Max. Unfortunately, Magnus's old friend Ragnor pays them a visit and steals the Book of the White at the bidding of the evil demon Sammael. Magnus is injured in the scuffle by a magical thorn and suffers from a strange glowing wound. To get the book of magic back, Alec and Magnus summon Clary, Jace, Isabelle, and Simon, their friends from the Shadowhunters Institute. Leaving Max under Maryse's care, they travel through a multi-dimensional portal to Shanghai, hoping to catch the thieves. The chase brings them close, but Magnus is affected by his injury. Sammael manipulates him through the thorn in his chest, persuading him to accept the terrifying power of the demon. Clare's fans will appreciate her usual blend of snarky humor and action, along with a world of magic that seems so real it's almost believable. The romance between Magnus and Alec naturally continues to heat up. However, this installment of the series might lose its appeal to younger readers with its more mature, domesticated feeling, unlike that of earlier works. Nevertheless, Shadowhunters fans won't be disappointed by the continuation of the story. VERDICT Purchase for fans of The Red Scrolls of Magic.-Sandi Jones, Wynne H.S., AR

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Margaret K. McElderry Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Lost Book of the White
The Lost Book of the White
Cassandra Clare
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Lost Book of the White
The Lost Book of the White
Cassandra Clare
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close