Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
The Heir
Cover of The Heir
The Heir
The Selection Series, Book 4
Borrow Borrow
A new era dawns in the world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection seriesAmerica and Maxon's fairy-tale romance enchanted readers from the very first page of The Selection. Now find...
A new era dawns in the world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection seriesAmerica and Maxon's fairy-tale romance enchanted readers from the very first page of The Selection. Now find...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A new era dawns in the world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series

    America and Maxon's fairy-tale romance enchanted readers from the very first page of The Selection. Now find out what happens after happily ever after in this fourth captivating novel, perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Lauren Oliver's Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh's The Wrath & the Dawn.

    Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon's heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn't expect anything like her parents' fairy-tale love story...but as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn't as impossible as she's always thought.

    A new generation of swoon-worthy characters and captivating romance awaits in the fourth book of the Selection series!

    Don't miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass's legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!

About the Author-

  • Kiera Cass is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Selection series and The Siren. She is a wife and mom and too many other things to list. If she could make a crown out of anything, it would be the unending tears of her readers. You can learn more about Kiera and her books at www.kieracass.com.

Reviews-

  • School Library Journal

    May 1, 2015

    Gr 9 Up-Cass draws us back into the world of "The Selection" (HarperCollins) with this latest series installment. Taking place 20 years after The One (2014), this entry focuses on the lives of Queen America and King Maxon's four children, specifically Princess Eadlyn, who is the heir to the throne. The castes have officially been dissolved, but not without recurring issue, including riots among the people of Ilea. To distract the country and buy time for King Maxon and Queen America to formulate a plan to stop the riots, it's decided that another Selection will take place. Princess Eadlyn is initially not fond of the idea because she is not ready to get married; however she respects her parents' wishes, and wants to do right by her people. She has two caveats: a three-month commitment and an understanding that she may not find a husband in the end. Fans will simultaneously root for and despise Eadlyn. She is powerful, bossy, and vulnerable. While life looks perfect from the outside, readers learn that things are not what they seem. Physical fights break out among the Selected, and secrets are kept only to be revealed at the very end. The cliff-hanger conclusion sets the stage for future volumes. At times the work feels like a retelling of the first book, but with a different cast of characters. However, readers will enjoy seeing the courtship rituals through the eyes of Eadlyn, her date mishaps, and how things have evolved over two decades. VERDICT A great addition for collections that have a high demand for "The Selection" series.-Erin Holt, Williamson County Public Library, Franklin, TN

    Copyright 2015 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    Cass' bestselling Selection trilogy is now a series, with the fourth installment picking up 20 years after The One (2014). Narrated by Eadlyn, the 18-year-old firstborn of King Maxon and Queen America and the next in line for the throne of Illea, the tale perpetuates the same stiff dialogue and obvious premise of its predecessors, though there is a tiny twist to the latter. This time, it's "The Bachelor meets The Hunger Games meets The Taming of the Shrew." Eadlyn is a practical princess, primarily concerned with preparing to one day rule the country. From the get-go, readers are bludgeoned with evidence that in her focus on leadership, she is too brusque and insensitive, both with the people closest to her and the wider national population. Her family makes the case that provincial unrest will be quelled if she would just stop being a ballbreaker, find a husband, and give the masses a distraction-cum-reason to love the monarchy again. "You can be brave and still be feminine...you can be queen and still be a bride," her twin brother assures her. Thus is Eadlyn strong-armed into participating in a Selection of her own, and the broadly drawn novel is primarily concerned with setting up most of the contenders to be a 50-50 shot. After dispatching the low-hanging fruit, she winds up with a group of "loud, strange boys" who "all matter" to her. The cliffhanger ending is merely an abrupt pause in the action-this chapter is essentially just scene-setting for the inevitable continuation(s). (Dystopian romance. 13 & up) COPYRIGHT(1) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Booklist

    May 15, 2015
    Grades 7-10 Twenty years ago, Lady America became queen of Illea through a televised, high-stakes competition, The Selection, and now her daughter Eadlyn finds herself in the same spotlight. Illea's benevolent King Maxon abolished the caste system, and rules with a much fairer hand than his cruel father, yet harmony has not come to the kingdom. Members of formerly disadvantaged classes still feel deprived, and an abolish-the-monarchy movement continues to flourish. Might another Selection bring distraction and entertainment to the masses? Eadlyn reluctantly agrees to the glitzy spectacle, and the contest to find her future husband and consort begins. Eadlyn takes over the narration in this fourth installment of the popular Selection series, and readers can expect a rocky road with lots of surprises. The arrogant, disconnected princess has a long way to go to win the hearts of future subjects, suitors, and, most of all, readers, who will remember her mother much more sympathetically. Eadlyn's gradual, humanizing personal growth sustains the story and sets the stage for another sequel.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2015, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperTeen
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Heir
The Heir
The Selection Series, Book 4
Kiera Cass
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Heir
The Heir
The Selection Series, Book 4
Kiera Cass
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close