Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
All These Monsters
Cover of All These Monsters
All These Monsters
Monsters Series, Book 1
Borrow Borrow Borrow
From New York Times best-selling author Amy Tintera, a high-stakes sci-fi adventure about a teen girl who will do anything to escape her troubled home—even if that means joining a dangerous...
From New York Times best-selling author Amy Tintera, a high-stakes sci-fi adventure about a teen girl who will do anything to escape her troubled home—even if that means joining a dangerous...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    2
  • Library copies:
    2

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • From New York Times best-selling author Amy Tintera, a high-stakes sci-fi adventure about a teen girl who will do anything to escape her troubled home—even if that means joining a dangerous monster-fighting squad. Perfect for fans of Warcross and Renegades.

About the Author-

  • Amy Tintera is the New York Times bestselling author of the Reboot and Ruined series. She earned degrees in journalism and film and worked in Hollywood before becoming an author. She lives in Austin, Texas, where she can usually be found staring into space, dreaming up ways to make her characters run for their lives.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    May 15, 2020
    The world is being ravaged by scrabs, ferocious monsters who target highly populated areas in order to kill humans. The U.S. has closed its borders and turned a blind eye toward Asia and Europe, where the scrabs are most rampant. Meanwhile, Clara Rivera Pratt has been fighting her whole life against another terrifying monster: her abusive father. Feeling hopeless about graduating high school, she's failed two classes but excels at combat. When Grayson St. John, wealthy heir of a weapons company, puts out an international call for a fight squad to help defeat scrabs abroad, Clara responds to the call and escapes her home for the first time, joining an ethnically diverse team of American teenagers from different socio-economic backgrounds. It may be a death sentence, but staying put will surely lead only to an even worse outcome. She is a steely, sarcastic survivor readers will cheer for as she battles scrabs and also faces the deep wounds left by her father's abuse. What appears to be a dystopian science-fiction adventure turns out fundamentally to be about a young woman's emotional path to transcendence over the cycle of abuse. Tintera gracefully balances heart-pounding action with compelling connections between Clara and her teammates, all told through snappy dialogue and prose. Clara is biracial, with a Mexican immigrant mother and white American father. A thrilling and worthy #MeToo story with frightening monsters of all kinds. (Science fiction. 14-18)

    COPYRIGHT(2020) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Publisher's Weekly

    June 1, 2020
    Clara Rivera Pratt, 17, lives in Dallas with her abusive father and codependent mother, so when the opportunity to join Grayson St. John’s vigilante monster-killing squad arises, Clara forges her father’s signature and hops a bus to try out. St. John’s recruits are trained to battle scrabs; the humanlike creatures with nearly impenetrable skin and long, sharp claws—fairly contained in America—are wreaking havoc in Asia and Europe. Under the leadership of Grayson’s friend Julian, Clara and a handful of others are dubbed “Team Loser” due to their inexperience, but they’re cleared to head to Paris for training. The team miraculously survives the first scrab attack, and after enduring several hard-fought battles, its members become minor social media celebrities. But not everything Clara has been led to believe about the scrabs is necessarily true. Tintera (the Ruined trilogy) has created a fully fleshed alternative world in which monsters, both literal and figurative, lurk around every corner. Peppered with explosive fight scenes, this action-packed novel moves at a swift pace,
    featuring robust, emotionally resonant characters. Ages 14–up. Agent: Emmanuelle Morgen, Stonesong.

  • School Library Journal

    June 1, 2020

    Gr 8 Up-Clara has decided to drop out of high school, leave her dysfunctional, abusive family, and join a privately run monster defense firm poised to take on the "scrab" insurgency in Europe. The recruiting agency will pay for a one-way ticket, but those who wash out are on their own when it comes to getting home. For Clara, however, there is no turning back. She's lived in fear of her father for years, and this opportunity is her golden ticket even if it ends up a death sentence. Scrabs appear in different forms across the globe but have certain commonalities: They are ruthless, impenetrable, snarly monsters. Following a harrowing escape from her father, Clara is accepted onto American Team 7-comprised of all teens. They are green around the gills, but internet darlings with a strong social media presence. The book is all action: Every time the team is on its way to training, it is interrupted by a rogue scrab attack. Meanwhile, Clara finds herself in the romantic clutches of her controlling, older team leader who will remind readers of Clara's father. The character development is powerful and action sequences are well conceived, but the story barely wraps up at the end, leaving questions about leadership motives and the possibility that the scrabs are not the enemy. VERDICT A sci-fi action dynamo with romantic overtones that screams for a sequel. Recommended.-Leah Krippner, Harlem H.S., Machesney Park, IL

    Copyright 2020 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    May 1, 2020
    Grades 8-11 When the son of a billionaire CEO forms an international monster-fighting squad, Clara impulsively hops on a recruitment bus to Atlanta for tryouts, desperate to escape her failing grades and abusive father. Tintera's (Reboot, 2013) latest sf thriller, the first in a duology, is set in a world similar to ours, but one facing an epidemic of scrabs, monsters with armor-like skin who use sharp claws to kill everyone in their path. Europe is particularly hard-hit, so Clara's team is sent to Paris. Her strikingly handsome team leader, Julian, takes Clara under his wing from the first day of training and sparks fly. The actual monster fighting doesn't materialize for awhile; rather, character and relationship development within the team takes center stage. This gives Julian time to become overly controlling and readers time to form attachments before the death toll mounts. Unfortunately, when the team is betrayed by an ugly conspiracy, the human villains prove exaggerated and unlikely. However, Clara is a strong character, and many readers will follow her into the concluding volume.(Reprinted with permission of Booklist, copyright 2020, American Library Association.)

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HMH Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
All These Monsters
All These Monsters
Monsters Series, Book 1
Amy Tintera
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
All These Monsters
All These Monsters
Monsters Series, Book 1
Amy Tintera
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close