Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
Cover of A Quiet Kind of Thunder
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
Borrow Borrow Borrow
Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally...
Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally...
Available Formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    4
  • Library copies:
    4

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson.

    A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel for "readers who enjoyed John Green's Turtles All the Way Down" (Booklist) from bestselling author Sara Barnard.
    Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say.
    Rhys can't hear, but he can listen.

    Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not "select" not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words.

    Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.

About the Author-

  • Sara Barnard is the author of Fragile Like Us; A Quiet Kind of Thunder; Goodbye, Perfect; and Destination Anywhere. She lives in Brighton, England, with her husband and their grumpy cat. She studied American literature with creative writing at university and never stopped reading YA. She has lived in Canada, interrailed through Europe, and once spent the night in an ice hotel. She thinks sad books are good for the soul and happy books lift the heart. She hopes to write lots of books that do both.

Reviews-

  • Kirkus

    November 15, 2017
    A 16-year-old English girl with too much anxiety to speak in public makes a new friend.Steffi no longer identifies as selectively mute, though she still finds it nearly impossible to speak in public. She's currently diagnosed with a range of anxiety and communication disorders: healthier but still fragile. And Tem, her sole childhood friend, has switched schools, leaving her alone. Nevertheless, Steffi's been doing cognitive behavioral therapy and has started medication; she's determined to make this the year when she speaks in school. A teacher introduces Steffi to a new boy at school, Rhys, because he's deaf, and Steffi knows a little British Sign Language. A very little--Steffi's BSL and Rhys' lip reading are adequate, but as their friendship grows, they switch fluidly among sign, fingerspelling, writing, and texts. Her deepening relationship with Rhys is exciting, but is he with her only because she speaks BSL? Steffi's improving mental health might enable her to go to university despite parental ambivalence, but her expanding social life alienates her from Tem. There's broad representation in this romantic coming-of-age novel: of perception of disability (Steffi wants to be "normal," Rhys wouldn't choose to hear); of family support (Steffi's infantalizing mum, Rhys' BSL-fluent family); of a racially diverse community (Steffi's white, Tem's black, Rhys is biracial black/white, and their community is realistically diverse).Both earnest and nuanced without seeking causes or cures. (Fiction. 14-16)

    COPYRIGHT(2017) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    December 1, 2017

    Gr 9 Up-When Steffi solves an equation out loud, her shocked classmates turn and stare. At school, Steffi never talks: she's a selective mute with glossophobia and an anxiety disorder. She also has supportive parents, a good therapist and the resolve to communicate at least sometimes-at her part-time job, for example, or with Tem, her trusted friend. It's not that Steffi doesn't want to speak; but sometimes, she just can't. Or, as she puts it: "Meekness is my camouflage. Silence is my force field." This doesn't phase Rhys, however, a new student who is deaf, for whom the speaking world is always silent. That's why he's a good foil and love interest. Unfortunately, he has a habit of editing himself when he signs, keeping his negative thoughts from others and making him hard to read. He may have a wonderful smile, but deep down he's pretty sure that Steffi can do better, which she assures him is not true. Together they build the confidence to find their own voices in a committed relationship. This issues-driven read will make teens care as much about the characters as about the issues that it raises. VERDICT A strong contemporary novel that portrays strength of character through a romance between its protagonists. Recommended as a general purchase.-Georgia Christgau, Middle College High School, Long Island City, NY

    Copyright 2017 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 4 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
Sara Barnard
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
A Quiet Kind of Thunder
Sara Barnard
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Sora Turbo
Get the app!
Apple App Store
Google Play Store
Brought to you by Barrington High School, and built with 💕 by OverDrive.
Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close